Audience Metrics

Metrics used by broadcast and streaming organisations.

CLV Methodology
So let’s assume you have 5,000 paying subscribers = 5,000
Add the combined amount your subscribers pay your business monthly known as monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) MRR = 200,000
Now work out the average revenue your business makes each month per subscriber (ARPS) = 40
Now we need the Gross margin (profit) as a percentage of each pound or dollar you earn each month = 80
Finally we need the churn (the percentage of subscribers who leave each month) = 5

CALCULATION IS:

CLV Calculation
ARPS (£) 40 X Gross margin (%) 80 / Churn rate (%) 5 = £640
So customer lifetime value CLV is £640 in this example
Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC) = marketing spend / new subscribers acquired
CAC = 5,000,000 (marketing spend) / 115,000 (new customers) = £43.47

The calculation is: total Streaming Revenue divided by the Number of subscribers
Total Streaming Revenue 40,000,000 / Number of subscribers 800,000 = £50
The calculation is revenue minus the cost of revenue = Gross Profits.
GPM is 40,000,000 (revenue) – 25,000,000 (cost of revenue) = 15,000,000
15,000,000 as a percentage of 40,000,000 = 37.5%
So annual gross profit per subscriber is average revenue per subscriber X GPM (£50 x 37.5 = £18.75)
The cost to maintain and keep the subscriber
10 per cent of marketing costs of 5 million = 500,000 / 800,000 ( subscribers ) = 62.5p
Rate = 1 – Churn Rate. We assume an 11% Churn rate so means the Retention Rate is 89%.
LT = 1 / (1- Retention Rate)
1 / (1 – 89)